Our Blog

Success is no accident. It is hard work, perseverance, learning, sacrifice and most of all, love of what you are doing or learning to do.
Galway Summer Rally 2015

Galway Summer Rally 2015

September 2, 2015 - Sport - , , ,

Heroic Hursons Hits The Mark In The West.

Peadar Hurson Dominated From Start To Finish At The 4×4 Exporter Galway Summer Rally 2015. The County Down Driver And Former National Rally Champion Won The Nine Stage Rally By Over A Minute From Monaghan Duo Niall Maguire And Enda Sherry In A Similar Subaru Impreza. The Drive of Day Was Donegal Man Declan Gallagher And Co Driver Ryan Moore Finishing An Incredible Third Overall In The Little Toyota Starlet.
2014 National Champions Declan And Brian Boyle In The Fiesta WRC Slid Off The Road On A Slippy Left Hander Halfway Through Stage One And Damaged The Front of The Fiesta. This Allowed Peadar Hurson To Set The Pace Ahead of Kerryman Alan Ring In Another Impreza WRC.
Hurson Set Fastest Times On The Other Two Stages Arriving In The First Service Halt With A Lead of Over 30 Seconds With Niall Maguire In Second. Overseas Driver Steve Wood In His Impreza Was Third Over 1.5 Seconds Behind Maguire.
Tipperary Man Roy White In His MG Was Fourth Having Issues With His Brakes But He Eventually Got It Fixed. Gallagher Was Fifth Leading The 2WD Category With Alan Ring In Sixth.
County Limericks Ed O’ Callaghan Was Seventh Overall After Setting Some Impressive Times Over The Greasy Stages. R5 Driver Daniel Mckenna And Escort Drivers Chris Armstrong And Jonathan Pringle Completed The Top 10.
In The Group N Category Gary Cairns Was Leading From Trevor Bustard After Aidan Wrays Clutch Cried No More.
The Second Round of Stages Hurson Set The Pace By Increasing His Lead To Over 50 Seconds. The Talk of The Day Was Declan Gallagher Who Blistered The Remaining Opposition To Climb Up To Second Spot After Setting Some Amazing Times In His Go Kart of A Starlet. Niall Maguire Was Occupying Third Spot.
On The Last Loop There Was No Catching Hurson Who Won The Rally Comfortably From Maguire Who Scored Some Vital Points. Roy White Won The Power Stage Which Gives Him A 1 Point Advantage Over Alan Ring For Third In The Championship.
Cavan Man Jonathan Pringle In His Escort Won The MK2 Escort Trophy Finishing Ahaed of Chris Armstrong.
Trevor Bustard Won The Group N Category After Gary Cairns Demise. Neill Tohill Finished Second.
In The Junior Section It Was Another Win For C2 Driver Cormac Phelan. Civic Driver Gary McNamee Finished Second With Brian Brady Completing The Podium.
Niall Keane Won The Historic Category In His Talbot Sunbeam With Frank Cunningham Finishing Second In His Ford Escort.


1. Peadar Hurson/Damien Connolly (Impreza WRC) 64m 45s
2. Niall Maguire/Enda Sherry (Impreza WRC) 65m 54s
3. Declan Gallagher/Ryan Moore (Starlet) 65m 55s
4. Alan Ring/Adrian Deasy (Impreza WRC) 65m 57s
5. Roy White/James O’Brien (MG ZR S2400) 66m 05s
6. Ed O’Callaghan/Ger Clancy (Escort) 66m 21s
7. Steve Wood/Keith Moriarty (Impreza WRC) 66m 26s
8. Daniel McKenna/Kevin Glynn (Fiesta R5) 66m 29s
9. Jonathan Pringle/Martin Byrne (Escort) 66m 49s
10. Chris Armstrong/James Fulton (Escort) 67m 00s

Motorsport Safety Team Group N award:
Trevor Bustard/John McCafferty (Lancer Evo 9)

rally.ie Two wheel drive award:
Declan Gallagher/Ryan Moore

1. Cormac Phelan/Katja Auhl (Citroen C2R2 Max) 46m 19s
2. Gary McNamee/John McCabe (Civic) 46m 22s
3. Brian Brady/Karl Kiernan (Integra) 47m 41s

1. Niall Keane/Conor Keane (Sunbeam) 53m 26s
2. Frank Cunningham/Arron Forde (Escort) 53m 55s

For more info go to Triton National Rally Championship
Photo By Crspics

Would you like to share your thoughts?

Leave a Reply