Our Blog

Success is no accident. It is hard work, perseverance, learning, sacrifice and most of all, love of what you are doing or learning to do.
Joule Donegal International Rally 2015

Joule Donegal International Rally 2015

June 22, 2015 - Sport - , ,

Garry Jennings And Rory Kennedy Took Victory At The Joule Donegal International Rally 2015. Garry Was Overcome With Emotion When He Arrived At The Finish Ramp In Letterkenny “A Special Rally” Was The Term He Used To Describe The Rally That Everyone Wants To Win.
The First Day Saw Jennings Do Battle With Current Tarmac Leader Donagh Kelly. But On The Second Day Kelly Good Run Was Deflated When He Hit A Bank On Stage 7 And Then In Turn Suffered A Puncture On Stage 10. Donagh Eventually Fought Through The Remaining Stages To Bring Home The Focus In Third Position. Runner Up To Jennings Was Donegal Men Declan And Brian Boyle In The New World Rally Spec Ford Fiesta. It Was An Inspiring Drive From The Pair, Boyle Made The Progression Into Left Hand Drive With Ease. With Some Challenging Conditions Thrown In The Boyle Cousins Brought The Fiesta Home 1 Minute 7 Seconds Behind Fermanagh Man Jennings. Derek McGarrity And Diarmuid Falvey Were Fourth In The Subaru WRC.
In The group N Category Martin Doherty Took Victory In His Evo 9 After An Excellent Drive All Weekend.
Equally As Exciting Was The National Section Which Was Won By The Local Crew Manus Kelly And Donal Barrett In A Ford Escort Mk2. Friday Saw National Favourite Declan Gallagher Retire Wheh He Slid Off The Road. On Saturday Gary McPhillips Accident Meant That Manus Stormed Into The Lead. Sunday Brought More Drama With Brian Brogan And Adrian Hetherington Both Retiring. Frank Kelly And Liam Brennan Finished Second Overall Along With Brothers Paul And Karl Reid Coming home In Third. The Top Three Was An All Mk2 Escort Affair.
The Historic Category Was Won Once Again By Seamus O Connell Driving His BDA Powered Mk2 Escort With Cork Man John Moynihan Second. Mk2 Escort Ernie Graham Completed The Podium.
The Long journey For Rob Duggan Was Worth It When They Won The junior Section By Over A Minute.

Joule Donegal International Rally 2015
1. Garry Jennings/Rory Kennedy (Subaru Impreza WRC) 2h 27m 30s
2. Declan Boyle/Brian Boyle (Ford Fiesta WRC) 2h 28m 37s
3. Donagh Kelly/Kevin Flanagan (Ford Focus WRC) 2h 29m 44s
4. Derek McGarrity/Diaruid Falvey (Subaru Impreza WRC) 2h 30m 29s
5. Seamus Leonard/John McCafferty (Subaru Impreza WRC) 2h 30m 56s
6. Daragh O’Riordan/Tony McDaid (Ford Fiesta WRC) 2h 31m 41s
7. Joe McGonigle/Ciaran Geaney (Skoda Fabia S2000) 2h 36m 39s
8. Martin Doherty/Conor Foley (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9) 2h 42m 34s
9. Pauric Duffy/John Higgins (Ford Fiesta R5) 2h 44m 03s
10. Richard Tannahill/Aileen Kelly (Peugeot 208 R2) 2h 44m 55s

National Rally:
1. Manus Kelly/Donal Barrett (Ford Escort) 2h 35m 59s
2. Frank Kelly/Liam Brennan (Ford Escort) 2h 36m 43s
3. Paul Reid/Karl Reid (Ford Escort) 2h 36m 48s

Historic Rally:
1. Seamus O’Connell/Sean Magee (Ford Escort) 2h 06m 09s
2. John Moynihan/Sean Moynihan (Ford Escort) 2h 09m 15s
3. Ernie Graham/Will Graham (Ford Escort) 2h 10m 46s

Junior Rally:
1. Rob Duggan/Ger Conway (Ford Fiesta R2) 54m 58s
2. Patrick O’Brien/Thomas Nugent (Citroen C2R2 Max) 55m 59s
3. John O’Sullivan/J J Cremin (Honda Civic) 56m 53s

Photo By KG Rally Pics

Would you like to share your thoughts?

Leave a Reply