Our Blog

Success is no accident. It is hard work, perseverance, learning, sacrifice and most of all, love of what you are doing or learning to do.
Mayo Stages Rally 2016

Mayo Stages Rally 2016

March 7, 2016 - Sport -

Jennings Wins In The West.

Garry Jennings And Rory Kennedy Cruised To Victory At The Mayo Stages Rally 2016. On The Opening Round of The Triton Showers National Rally Championship The Fermanagh Man Was Fastest On 8 of The 9 Stages That Graced The Scenic Kilalla/Ballycastle Region.
Jennings Also Secured Maximum Points On The Power Stage Finishing Over A Minute And A Half Seconds Ahead of Peadar Hurson With Monaghan Man Niall Maguire Coming Home In Third Completing The All Subaru Podium.
Following The Demise of Damian Tourish On Stage 8 It Was Gary Kiernan Who Secured The 2wd Victory With Ryan Moore In The Passenger Seat They Finished A Fantastic 5th Overall.
Shane Maguire And Mac Kierans Brought The Evo 9 Home Top of The Group N Category.
On the opening Stage It Was Jennings Who Was Quickest Off The Mark With Niall Maguire In Close Contention In Second. Peadar Hurson Was Third In The Tricky Conditions. Retirements On Stage 1 Included Stephen McCann Who Failed To Start, It Was Gearbox Woes For Paddy McVeigh While Aaron McHale’s Car Left The Road But He Later Rejoined The Rally.
Stages 2 And 3 Were Also Won By Jennings Who Revelled In These Conditions. By The Time Garry Reached Service He Had Amassed A Lead of Nearly 50 Seconds.
Niall Maguire Kept A Cool Head In The Tricky Conditions To Arrive Back To Service In Second Behind Jennings With The Similar Subaru of Past National Champion Peadar Hurson A Further 14 Seconds Behind Maguire.
Roy White Held Fourth But Not Without Problems. His Windscreen Gave Him Some Issues Over The Opening Loop. Former National Champion Declan Boyle Was Having The Same Problems As Tipperary Man White As His Windscreen Was Also Giving Him Trouble. He Was Lying In Fifth.
In The Modified Section It Was Gary Kiernans Escort Who Faired Out Better Than The Car of Damian Tourish Over The Opening Stages But The Gap Was Less Than 10 Seconds, They Occupied Sixth And Seventh Respectively.
Completing The Top Ten Was The Mk2 Escorts of Damien Toner, Gary McPhilips And Frank kelly.
It Was Teething Issues For The Ford Fiesta Wrc of Michael O’ Brien As Engine Trouble Meant He Had To Skip A Stage And Rejoin After The First Service Halt.
Monaghan Man Shane Maguire Held A Lead In Group N Ahead of Paul Barrett’s Subaru With Donegal Man Trevor Bustard Third In Group N.
On The Second Loop of Stages Jennings Continued To Pull Away Increasing His Lead To Nearly A Minute And Half. Tyres Proved To Be Factor That Would Flip Second And Third Positions With Hurson Passing Out Maguire But Only By A Whisker.
It Was A Case of Leap Frog Between The Fiesta’s of Roy White And Declan Boyle. White Hit A Bale Allowing Boyle To Claim Fourth Position. But Positions Were Reversed As Boyle Retired On Stage 4 With Gearbox Problems. This Allowed Tourish To Take Fifth Place Ahead of Kiernan. Shane Maguire Continued To Lead Group N Ahead of Trevor Bustard .
After The Last Service Jennings Continued To Impress But Not Without Some Moments. He Got A Puncture On Stage 8 But He Set The Fastest Time On The Power Stage (Stage 9) To Claim Maximum Points.
Hurson Finished In Second Place Even With Having Some Issues All day. Also Having Problems Was Niall Maguire After He Had A Few Incidents On Stage 7 And 8. Roy White Finished In Fourth And Also Grabbed Some Bonus Points By Coming Second On The Power Stage.
Gary Kiernan Claimed 2wd Victory After Damian Tourish Retired After He Got A Puncture On Stage 8. Having A Consistent Run All Day Was Shane Maguire Who Claimed Victory In Group N.
Cavan Man Jonathan Pringle And Alan Keena In A Ford Escort Mk2 Claimed The Triton Showers Drive of The Day.
The Honda Civic of Mark Murphy Claimed Victory In The Junior Section.
On The 3rd of April The Crews Head To Tralee For Round 2 of The Triton Showers National Rally Championship.


1. Garry Jennings/Rory Kennedy (Impreza WRC) 63m 41s
2. Peadar Hurson/Damien Connolly (Impreza WRC) 65m 16s
3. Niall Maguire/Enda Sherry (Impreza WRC) 65m 57s
4. Roy White/James O’Brien (Fiesta WRC) 65m 59s
5. Gary Kiernan/Ryan Moore (Escort) 67m 56s
6. Ed O’Callaghan/Ger Clancy (Escort) 68m 52s
7. Gary McPhillips/Paul Sheridan (Escort) 69m 09s
8. Frank Kelly/Paul Twomey (Escort) 69m 35s
9. Russell Woods/Martin Byrne (Escort) 69m 42s
10. Shane Maguire/Mac Kierans (Lancer Evo 9 Gp N) 69m 47s

For more info go to Triton National Rally Championship
Photo By Frames Per Second

Would you like to share your thoughts?

Leave a Reply