Our Blog

Success is no accident. It is hard work, perseverance, learning, sacrifice and most of all, love of what you are doing or learning to do.
Moonraker Forest Rally 2015

Moonraker Forest Rally 2005

April 13, 2015 - Sport - , , , ,

Owen Murphy Put In An Inspired Drive To Win The Moonraker Forest Rally 2015. This Is His Third Victory On This Event. Keith Cronin Was The Leader After Stage 4 But Fuel Problems Saw The End of His Charge In The Citroen DS3 R5. Murphy Was Not Without His Own Problems When The Turbo Pipe Came Loose On Stage 4 Meaning He Had To Drive At A Snails Pace Through The Second Half of The Stage But He Drove Like A Man Possessed On The Remaining Stages. Both Andrew Purcell And Josh Moffett Finished The Day early When Both of They’re Gearboxes Cried No More. Cork Man Daragh O’ Riordan In His First Ever Forest Rally Finished A Very Impresive Second Overall In His Fiesta. Michael O’ Brien Came Home In Third Place Not Without His Own Little Moment Though. An Incursion On Stage 2 After A Jump Saw Him Leave The Road But He Was Able To Continue. Gerard Lucey Continued His Good Run of Form To Finish Fourth Overall In His Evo 8. Mickey Conlon In His Ford Escort Mk2 Was Top Modified Car Home Finishing Sixth Overall. Driving On The Door Handles All Day Dean Raftery and John Higgins Finished A Fantastic Seventh Overall In The Fiesta R2. He Was Also The Winner Of The Junior Category On The Day Finishing Ahead Of Alan Moran And Trevor O’ Connell In A Peugeot 206. Shane Kenneally And Jer Connors In A Mk2 Escort Completed The Podium.
The Irish Forest Rally Championship’s Next Round Is The Jim Walsh Cork Forest Rally Which Takes Place On The 23rd Of August.

1. Owen Murphy/Anthony Nestor (Lancer Evo 9) 42m 38s,
2. Daragh O’Riordan/Sean McCarthy (Fiesta WRC) 43m 00s,
3. Michael O’Brien/James O’Brien (Focus WRC) 43m 08s,
4. Gerard Lucey/J J Cremin (Lancer Evo 8) 43m 14s,
5. Martin Cairns/Gary McElhinney (Impreza) 44m 57s,
6. Mickey Conlon/Ciaran McPhillips (Escort) 45m 42s,
7. Dean Raftery/John Higgins (Fiesta R2) 45m 46s,
8. James Coleman/Pierce Doheny Jnr (Escort) 45m 50s,
9. Andrew Fanning/Derek Gibbs (Lancer Evo) 46m 00s,
10. Stephen Cullen/Seamus O’Grady (Impreza) 47m 02s.

Junior Results:
1. Dean Raftery/John Higgins (Fiesta) 45m 46s,
2. Alan Moran/Trevor O’Connell (Peugeot 206) 48m 17s,
3. Shane Kenneally/Jer Connors (Escort) 48m 24s.

For more info go to Irish Forest Rally Championship
Photo By BarronPix

Would you like to share your thoughts?

Leave a Reply