Our Blog

Success is no accident. It is hard work, perseverance, learning, sacrifice and most of all, love of what you are doing or learning to do.
Ravens Rock Rally 2015

Ravens Rock Rally 2015

June 29, 2015 - Sport - , ,

Donagh Kelly And Kevin Flanagan Annihilated The Competition In Waterford Taking Victory At The Ravens Rock Rally 2015. This Victory Brings Them Even Closer To Taking The Title With 3 Rounds Still Remaining.
The Focus WRC Blitzed The Competition On All 9 Stages Finishing Over A Minute From The Nearest Challenger Melvyn Evans And Mark Glennerster In The Subaru WRC.
Finishing Off The Podium Was The Subaru WRC Driven By Killarney Man Alan Ring And Cork Co driver Adrian Deasy. They Were 22 Seconds Arrears Of Welshman Evans.
Peadar Hurson Reired After The First Loop of Stages When A Leak In The Fuel Tank Was Discovered By Mechanics In Service. Another Retirement Was Modified Favourite Chris Armstrong. He Rolled His Mk2 Escort On The First Stage. Another Retirement Was Triton Man Kevin Barrett Who Crashed Out On The Third Stage. Damage Seemed To Be Just Cosmetic As The Crew Drove Out of The Stage.
After The First Loop of Stages Kelly Had Built Up A Lead of Over 30 Seconds From Evans With Michael O’ Brien Completing The Top 3. Kelly Described The Stages As “Difficult”.
Roy White, Having A Great Run Slotted Into Fifth Position Behind Alan Ring’s Subaru And Ahead of 2WD Leader Declan Gallaghers Toyota Starlet. In Seventh Place Was The Ex Declan Boyle Subaru WRC Driven By Niall Maguire. Jack Newman Was Tenth In His Mk2 Escort A Second Ahead Of Native Craig Breen Who Was Driving A Similar Car.
After The Sixth Stage Kelly’s Lead Over Evans Was Nearly A Minute. Evans Was Driving On The Door Handles But It Was No Good. Alan Ring Was Third, 12 Seconds Behind Evans. Michael O’ Brien Was In Fourth Position With Monaghan Man Niall Maguire Up To Fifth Getting Used To his New Toy. Roy White And James O’ Brien Held Sixth Position In The Rapid MG. Donegal Man Declan Gallagher Still Led The Modified Section Over 30 Seconds Ahead of Jack Newman. The Two WRC Corollas of Martin Donnelly And Eddie Power Were Also Well Placed In The Top 10. Craig Breen In His Mk2 Escort Was Just Outside The Top 10 In Eleventh. In Group N Paul Barrett Was Leading Neil Tohill By 9 Seconds.
Kelly Repeated His Fine Form With Fastest Times On All 3 of The Days Final Stages. He Also Received 3 Points As He Was The Fastest Driver On The Power Stage. The Power Stage Saw The Other 2 and 3 Points Go To Niall Maguire And Roy White. Evans Finished Second But Seen As He Is Not Championship Registered The Points Went To Third Place Finisher Alan Ring And Adrian Deasy In The Subaru. Michael O’ Brien Finished A Fine Fourth Place With Niall Maguire Finishing Fifth. A Great Result For The Monaghan Man On His Debut Rally In The New Car. Roy White Rounded of The Top 6 In His Little MG ZR.
Winner of Group N Was Niall And Gerard Tohill In An Evo 9.
Setting Some Good Times All Day Were The Winners of The Modified Class Declan Gallagher And Ryan Moore In There 2 Litre Toyota Starlet.
In The Junior Category James Bradley Set A Blistering Pace All Day To Finish Nearly 2 Minutes Ahead of His Nearest Rival John O’ Sullivan. Michael O’ Brien Completed The Podium In his Honda Civic.


1. Donagh Kelly/Kevin Flanagan (Focus WRC) 55m 36s
2. Melvyn Evans/Mark Glennerster (Impreza WRC) 56m 50s
3. Alan Ring/Adrian Deasy (Impreza WRC) 57m 13s
4. Michael O’Brien/Liam Brennan (Focus WRC) 57m 22s
5. Niall Maguire/Enda Sherry (Impreza WRC) 57m 23s
6. Roy White/James O’Brien (MG ZR S2400) 57m 31s
7. Declan Gallagher/Ryan Moore (Escort) 57m 58s
8. Martin Donnelly/Brian Doherty (Corolla) 58m 51s
9. Eddie Power/Mark Wiley (Corolla) 58m 53s
10. Jonathan Pringle/Martin Byrne (Escort) 59m 00s

Motorsport Safety Team Group N award:
Neil Tohill/Gerard Tohill (Lancer Evo9) 60m 46s

rally.ie Two wheel drive award:
Declan Gallagher/Ryan Moore

1. James Bradley/Maria Kehoe (Civic) 40m 14s
2. John O’Sullivan/Kieran Reen (Civic) 42m 04s
3. Michael Ryan/Billy Sheally (Civic) 42m 46s

For more info go to Triton National Rally Championship
Photo By BarronPix

Would you like to share your thoughts?

Leave a Reply