Our Blog

Success is no accident. It is hard work, perseverance, learning, sacrifice and most of all, love of what you are doing or learning to do.
West Cork Rally 2015

West Cork Rally 2015

March 16, 2015 - Sport - , ,

No One Seems To Able To Stop The Ford Focus of Donagh Kelly and Kevin Flanagan As He Charged On To Take Victory At The West Cork Rally 2015 In The Sunny Setting of Clonakilty. Sam Moffett Came Home In Second 1 Minute And 10 Seconds Behind Donagh In A Fiesta. Stephen Wright Completed The Top Three In An All Ford Podium.
kelly Started With Number 1 On The Door And Thats Where He Stayed Over The Two Day Event. Last Years Tarmac Champion Declan And Brian Boyle’s Challenge Lasted Only One Stage As His Car Cried No More On The Ring Stage. This Has Made A Major Dent To His Challenge For The 2015 Championship In Such An Early Stage of The Year. They Did Rejoin The Rally But Retired At The End Of Day 1 As Too Much Time Had Been Lost. Local Man Daragh O’ Riordain Was In The Top 3 But A Puncture Saw Him Demoted To Fifth Overall. An Electrical Gremlin Saw Josh Moffett’s Rally Come To An End But They Got The Car Sorted And Returned To The Rally On Day 2 Under Rally 2 Rules And Set Some Very Good Times To Finish Inside The Top 20.
The Group N Battle Was Fierce Between Aaron MacHale And Brendan Cumiskey But In The End It Was MacHale In His Evo Who Came Home The The Victor With Cumiskey’s Subaru Taking Second Place.
The Modified Battle Was An Exciting One With Three Cars Battling It Out. Declan Gallagher Put In Some Pretty Amazing Times Even Challenging Some Of The top 4WD’s At Some Points Over The Two Days. He Won The Modified Category By Over A Minute And A Half In The Little Starlet. Gary Kiernan’s Escort Was Second And Donegal Man Brian Brogan’s Escort was Third.
Cork Man Denis Moynihan In A Mk1 Escort Took Victory In The Historic Category Following Rob Smith’s Retirement Due to Mechanical Issues.
In Only His Second Outing In The Fiesta, Both Taking Place This Weekend, Rob Duggan Dominated The Junior Category With An Excellent Drive Over The 6 Stages.
The Third Round Of The Championship Heads To Northern Ireland For Easter When The Circuit of Ireland Takes Place From The 2 – 4th April.

Overall Results:
1. Donagh Kelly/Kevin Flanagan (Ford Focus WRC) 110m 12s,
2. Sam Moffett/Karl Atkinson (Ford Fiesta WRC) 111m 21s,
3. Stephen Wright/Mikie Galvin (Ford Fiesta R5) 114m 58s,
4. Jonathan Greer/Kirsty Riddick (Citroen DS3 R5) 117m 15s,
5. Daragh O’Riordan/Tony McDaid (Ford Fiesta WRC) 117m 21s,
6. Declan Gallagher/Ryan Moore (Toyota Starlet) 117m 35s,
7. Gary Kiernan/James Fulton (Ford Escort) 119m 18s,
8. Brian Brogan/Mac Walsh (Ford Escort) 120m 06s,
9. Wesley Patterson/Johnny Baird (Ford Escort) 120m 09s,
10. Vincent McSweeney/Michael Kearney (Honda Civic) 120m 26s.

Historic Rally:
1. Denis Moynihan/Gerard Conway (Ford Escort) 86m 20s,
2. Ernie Graham/Will Graham (Ford Escort) 88m 10s,
3. Gareth Lloyd/Den Golding (Ford Escort) 88m 11s.

Junior Rally:
1. Rob Duggan/Keith Moriarty (Ford Fiesta) 52m 39s,
2. James Bradley/Maria Kehoe (Honda Civic) 53m 43s,
3. John O’Sullivan/J J Cremin (Honda Civic) 56m 20s.

For more info go to West Cork Rally
Photo By Paul McIlroy

Would you like to share your thoughts?

Leave a Reply