Our Blog

Success is no accident. It is hard work, perseverance, learning, sacrifice and most of all, love of what you are doing or learning to do.
West Cork Rally 2016

West Cork Rally 2016

March 15, 2016 - Sport - , ,

On A Sunny Sunday Evening In Clonakilty Donegal Man Donagh Kelly Arrived At The Finish of The West Cork Rally 2016 Victorious Thus Completing His Hat Trick of Wins On The Event. He Finished 1 Minute 26 Seconds Ahead of Keith Cronin In His Citroen Ds3 Who Had A Fantastic Run All Weekend. Fermanagh Man Garry Jennings Brought His Subaru Home In Third Position After A Mixed Weekend.
Donagh Lead From Start To Finish Cruising Through The Clonakilty Countryside To Take The Win Over The 14 Stages. His Nearest Challenger Was Keith Cronin Who Set Astonishing Times To Challenge Kelly Following The Demise of Alastair Fisher On SS8. Garry Jennings Had A Last Minute Change In Navigator Which Didn’t Help His Challenge Against Kelly.
The Main Battle That occurred Over The Weekend Was A Brotherly Battle. The Moffatt Brother’s In Identical Fiesta R5’s Were Like Yoyo’s All Weekend As There As There Positions Kept Changing But In The End It Was Sam Who Came Out Top Finishing A Mere 3 Seconds Ahead of Josh. Roy White And James O’ Brien had A Consistent Run All Weekend To Finish 6th Overall In The Fiesta Wrc.
In Group N It Was David Guest And Paddy Robinson Mitsubishi Evo 9 Who Finished On Top.
The National Was A Spectacle To Behold As It Was Brian Brogan Set the Stages Alight In His Mk2 Escort Finishing Ahead of Alan Ring In His Ford Fiesta. Brogan’s Main Challenger Wesley Patterson And Johnny Baird Retired At The End of Day 1.
Philip Wylie And John Young’s Mk2 Escort Had Nearly A Minute To Spare Over John Coyne And Christy Farrell In The Lotus Sunbeam To Win The Historic’s With The Ford Escort of Frank Cunningham And Ross Forde Completing The Podium.
In The Junior Category It Was The Mk2 Escort of Philip Hurley And Eric Deane Who Won Comfortably Ahead of The Two Honda Civics of Justin Ryan And Christy McCarthy.
The Third Round Of The Championship Heads To Northern Ireland For Easter When The Circuit of Ireland Takes Place From The 7 – 9th April.

Overall Results:
1. Donagh Kelly/Conor Foley (Ford Focus WRC) 1h 54m 14s
2. Keith Cronin/Mikey Galvin (Citroen DS3 R5) 1h 55 m 40s
3. Garry Jennings/David Moynihan (Subaru Impreza WRC) 1h 56m 23s
4. Sam Moffett/Karl Atkinson (Ford Fiesta R5) 1h 57m 19s
5. Josh Moffett/John Rowan (Ford Fiesta R5) 1h 57m 22s
6. Roy White/James O’Brien (Ford Fiesta WRC) 1h 57m 37s
7. Daragh O’Riordan/Tony McDaid (Ford Fiesta WRC) 1h 58m 25s
8. Stephen Wright/James Fulton (Ford Fiesta R5) 1h 59m 21s
9. Kevin Kelleher/Gwynfor Jones (Subaru Impreza WRC) 1h 59m 35s
10. Joe McGonigle/Ciaran Geaney (Skoda Fabia S2000) 2h 00m 49s

Class Winners:
Callum Devine/Keith Moriarty (Opel Adam)
Richard Whelan/James Whelan (Citroen DS3 R3)
David Guest/Paddy Robinson (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9 Gp N)
Sam Moffett/Karl Atkinson (Ford Fiesta R5)
Roy White/James O’Brien (Ford Fiesta WRC)

National Rally:
1. Brian Brogan/Damien McGettigan (Ford Escort) 2h 02m 47s
2. Alan Ring/Adrian Deasy (Ford Fiesta) 2h 02m 54s
3. Adrian Hetherington/Gary Nolan (Ford Escort) 2h 04m 27s
4. Andy Mahon/Eamon Hayes (Ford Escort) 2h 05m 41s
5. Vivian Hamill/Paul Sheridan (Ford Escort) 2h 06m 18s
6. John Bonner/Leon Jordan (Ford Escort) 2h 06m 31s

Historic Rally:
1. Philip Wylie/John Young (Ford Escort) 1h 37m 29s
2. John Coyne/Christy Farrell (Talbot Sunbeam Lotus) 1h 38m 24s
3. Frank Cunningham/Ross Forde (Ford Escort) 1h 42m 09s

Junior Rally:
1. Fergus Hurley/Eric Deane (Ford Escort) 59m 02s
2. Justin Ryan/Stephen Monaghan  (Honda Civic) 1h 02m 05s
3. Christy McCarthy/Cathal Quill (Honda Civic) 1h 03m 17s

For more info go to West Cork Rally
Photo By Paul McIlroy

Would you like to share your thoughts?

Leave a Reply